Sijil Kemahiran Malaysia in English

The Malaysian Skills Certificate, or Sijil Kemahiran Malaysia in English, is a highly recognised national and international certification. It is issued by the Malaysian Government’s Department of Skills Development (JPK) to individuals who have demonstrated the necessary capacities and acquired the specific competencies for gainful employment in chosen fields.

How many levels of Sijil Kemahiran Malaysia?

There are five levels of this certification:

  1. Malaysian Skills Certificate (SKM) Level 1
  2. Malaysian Skills Certificate (SKM) Level 2
  3. Malaysian Skills Certificate (SKM) Level 3
  4. Malaysian Skills Diploma (DKM)
  5. Malaysian Advanced Skills Diploma (DLKM)

How long is the duration for Sijil Kemahiran Malaysia?

The average duration for each level varies, with the SKM Levels taking from 6 to 12 months, the DKM Level requiring 12 months plus 3 months of on-the-job training, and the DLKM Level taking 18 months.

How to get Sijil Kemahiran Malaysia?

There are three ways to obtain the Malaysian Skills Certificate:

  1. Through a training program at a JPK-accredited centre for specific skills and levels.
  2. Through Recognition of Prior Achievements (PPT), where past work or training experiences are taken into account. Verification by an assessor (PP-PPT) and approval by an External Verification Officer appointed by the Department of Skills Development (SDS) are required.
  3. Through an apprenticeship under the National Dual Training System (NDTS), conducted by industries and skills training institutes.

The Malaysian Skills Certificate carries significant benefits. It is widely recognized by industries in Malaysia and offers an appealing career path and personal growth opportunities. It prepares skilled workers who are trained and qualified to enhance the competitiveness of local industries in the global market.

What is the eligibility for Sijil Kemahiran Malaysia?

To be eligible for the Malaysian Skills Certificate, one must be a Malaysian or PR aged 15 or above (though some programs only accept individuals from age 16), be able to speak and write in either Bahasa Melayu or English, be capable of reading, writing, and basic calculations (with no PT3 or SPM requirement), and must have passed a lower SKM level before signing up for a higher level in the same field.

For more information on the Malaysian Skills Certificate, and to explore various options such as TVET/skills courses at private JPK Accredited Centres, continuing your SKM3 to an Executive Bachelor, furthering your DKM to technical/non-technical Bachelor or Master degrees, or understanding the Starting Pay Guide for SKM graduates, please visit the official JPK website.

Should you lose your certificate, forms and checklists for reissuing are also available on the website. All documents should be sent to the Department of Skills Development, located at 7 – 8, Block D4, Complex D, Federal Government Administration Centre, 62530 Putrajaya.

Leave a Comment